Ability to Share Workspace Project as READ ONLY | Community
Skip to main content
npotter24
Level 2
Jan 30, 2018 1:22 PM UTC
Delivered

Ability to Share Workspace Project as READ ONLY

We've had multiple instances where we've created complex projects in Workspace for the business, and then shared them to multiple Stakeholders, only to find one of them changes or deletes something and then hits Save rather than Save As affecting the project for everyone.

At the moment the work around we have to use is to make a copy of the final project and share that, so we still have the original to revert to.

If when sharing there was the option to say whether it was shared as read-only or read/write it would help with this issue. Stakeholders could still make amend but if they then wanted to Save those amend it would only allow them to Save As a new project.

26 replies

Urs_Boller
New Participant
Sep 27, 2018 10:42 PM UTC

jen.lasser​ thanks for asking the community! would love to see this feature very soon, might be another "game changer" on how we spread data within our organisation.

Translate
Gigazelle
Employee
Sep 26, 2018 7:57 PM UTC

The following ideas are duplicated by this:

Read-only workspace link

Analysis Workspace - Sharing workspace with others with read-only access

These ideas add an additional 28 votes here.

Translate
Employee
Sep 26, 2018 6:22 PM UTC

We are looking to get feedback on a read-only project experience in Analysis Workspace. If you have wanted something like this before and/or up-voted this thread, please take a moment to complete this survey (should take 5-10 minutes): https://goo.gl/forms/9zl6QiFG6OeNVjMU2. Thanks in advance!

Translate
Employee
Jun 11, 2018 6:09 PM UTC

We have begun our phase 1 research, but we definitely keep you in mind for the next round! Thanks for being willing to chat.

Translate
New Participant
Jun 11, 2018 6:07 PM UTC

If you are still looking to connect with people on the new permission structure for Analysis Workspace, please reach out to me. I have seen first hand how challenging not having a read only option is to large enterprise organizations.

Translate
mcalliru
Level 2
May 25, 2018 4:27 PM UTC

Please reach out to me, as well.

Thank you.

Translate
v-tiwri
Level 3
May 24, 2018 2:31 AM UTC

jen.lasser​ please include me. I'd be very interested in helping contribute some feedback for this feature - if you reach out to me over DM I can provide email or any other contact info you may need to set up a call.

Translate
Employee
May 24, 2018 2:26 AM UTC

We would like to setup some research calls with those interested in this topic (enhanced project sharing permissions, read-only, etc). Would anyone be open to a 30 minute call to chat with us? Let me know!

npotter24​ v-tiwri​ sundipt96645346​

sundipt96645346

Translate
v-tiwri
Level 3
Apr 24, 2018 5:09 PM UTC

Yeah -- this is what I thought. Only admins can "save" over projects shared with them, which means the "stakehodlers" that npotter256  references in this feature request must have "admin" rights. If "stakeholders" are saving over projects & making changes to projects that they didn't create, then it sounds like all that needs to be done is a downgrade to their access level from admin to "user with create/curate permission". Users cannot save over projects shared with them.

Translate
Employee
Apr 24, 2018 3:33 PM UTC

Here is the quick overview of what our permissions allow for today:

  1. Admin - this is the only level that can 'Save' over projects shared with them.
  2. User (with 'create/curate' permission) - the Curate permission gives a User the ability to create & save a new project and save as a template. Users can also 'save as' like the users w/o Curate below.  
  3. User (without 'create/curate' permission) - Users without the Curate permission cannot save a new project or save as template. They can only open shared projects and ‘save as’.

We are exploring more permission options that would allow for Users to 'save', read-only, etc.

Translate