Skip to main content
John_Man
Level 2
May 10, 2016
Declined

Analysis Workspace - Sharing workspace with others with read-only access

  • May 10, 2016
  • 12 replies
  • 15465 views

Would be great if there's an option to set it as read-only when sharing a workspace with others. Analysis workspace is great to create dashboard, but currently there's no way to set it as read-only for someone when sharing.

12 replies

Gigazelle
Employee
September 26, 2018

This idea is a duplicate of Ability to Share Workspace Project as READ ONLY - please upvote and show your support there!

Level 2
March 16, 2017

I would love to be able to restrict certain users from modifying components of projects in Workspace Analysis by allowing them to have a view only of projects (maybe modify date range). Currently, they know that if they modify something and then are prompt to save the project while leaving the page, they need to click No.

Employee
January 19, 2017

@Simon_Pilkowski: Noted, it's still something we are actively pursuing! 

Level 2
January 16, 2017

I would love to be able to set Workspace Projects to read only!

benjamingaines2
Employee
November 4, 2016

I'm going to move this to Under Review as we are actively designing a potential solution to this request. I cannot offer an ETA at this time, however. 

New Participant
November 3, 2016

Agreed - this is vital.  Yesterday I shared a project with a team member to highlight a tracking issue, and in trying to show me something in return he deleted the rest of my dashboard and accidentally saved over the top.  This is now unrecoverable.  A read-only option is critical to keep work safe when sharing projects, especially when whole teams of business users are sharing a results dashboard.

Level 3
June 23, 2016

In a perfect world, having one read-only option that locks down the date range *and* one that allows date range modification would be great.  If I had to pick, I'd go for totally locked down first, since I have multiple reports that wouldn't handle random date range changes well.

benjamingaines2
Employee
May 23, 2016

Thanks everyone for the comments, and please keep them coming! We agree that this is pretty important.

cisco_webteam
Level 3
May 23, 2016

I would like to have it 'read-only', except for changing the reporting period. 

KristiB1
Level 4
May 19, 2016

Agree - this would be very useful


jman wrote:

Would be great if there's an option to set it as read-only when sharing a workspace with others. Analysis workspace is great to create dashboard, but currently there's no way to set it as read-only for someone when sharing.