Delete obsolete segments in Discover | Community
Skip to main content
violetd1
Level 2
Oct 8, 2012 8:47 AM UTC
New

Delete obsolete segments in Discover

How can I delete obsolete segments in Discover? These were created by people who left the company years ago and of no use for a long time. The increasing amount of obsolete segments creates only confusion to current users. I called client care but was informed that such functionality is not available. "As per design, you cannot delete segments in Discover once they are created. This is to ensure someone in the company doesn't delete segments that are needed."

 

But we do NEED to clean up the mess and be able to delete segments created by users who are no longer legitimate.

4 replies

New Participant
Nov 17, 2012 9:07 AM UTC

Would be great if it was that simple, that of corse that idea doesn't work.

Translate
Level 7
Oct 12, 2012 5:03 AM UTC

If the user was already deleted, create a temporary user with the former username, login to Discover and delete the segments.

Not a perfect solution, but works.

Translate
violetd1
violetd1Author
Level 2
Oct 11, 2012 6:20 AM UTC

Yes, it is in Discover 3. I AM the admin and the users HAVE been deleted in SiteCatalyst (long time ago).

 

However, in "Organize segments", the "Delete" button is always greyed out. The definition of a segement can be edited, but the segment itself cannot be deleted, unfortunately.

 

Every client care rep I talked to said I'm not the only one who have this issue but no solution as of now :-(

Translate
Level 7
Oct 10, 2012 5:46 PM UTC

Discover 3? You can delete segments via "Organize segments".

If those are from an user who left the company, an admin can impersonate that user and delete the segments. (actually deleting the user should do the same)

Translate