Last Channel override | Community
Skip to main content
vickyg28253246
Level 3
Aug 19, 2018 7:26 PM UTC
Solved

Last Channel override

My understanding is that it is recommended to disable the Last Channel override on Internal and Direct channels. But doesn't this mean that any new visitor from this point onward will never have Internal or Direct recorded as their Last Channel? 

This post is no longer active and is closed to new replies. Need help? Start a new post to ask your question.
BrianTophamAdobe
BrianTophamAdobeAccepted solution
Employee
Aug 21, 2018 8:29 PM UTC

What this really means is, "if there is a Last Touch Channel value persisting, do NOT over write it." Also, Last Touch Channel values can expire. So if the a user waited for their persisting, Last Touch Channel to expire before retuning to the site, when they came back from Direct (internal - which should really only happen if they had the tab over for the whole time, but never refreshed it) there would be no Last Touch Channel persisting, and thus the last instance of Direct/Internal would be counted.

1 reply

BrianTophamAdobe
BrianTophamAdobeAccepted solution
Employee
Aug 21, 2018 8:29 PM UTC

What this really means is, "if there is a Last Touch Channel value persisting, do NOT over write it." Also, Last Touch Channel values can expire. So if the a user waited for their persisting, Last Touch Channel to expire before retuning to the site, when they came back from Direct (internal - which should really only happen if they had the tab over for the whole time, but never refreshed it) there would be no Last Touch Channel persisting, and thus the last instance of Direct/Internal would be counted.

Translate