Ability to deactivate a Team | Community
Skip to main content
Level 2
Mar 17, 2017 2:16 PM UTC
Delivered

Ability to deactivate a Team

There is not a way to disable a team that is no longer needed. Deleting team will cause issues with history.

10 replies

Level 9
Jul 6, 2018 2:24 PM UTC

That would be so useful. We don't wanna remove teams which we don't use currently. Would be much easier if we could deactivate. It wouldn't confuse people by still being in a dropdowns!

Translate
Kelly_Wehrmann
Level 9
Jun 12, 2018 6:29 PM UTC

Agreed.

Translate
Level 2
Apr 20, 2018 12:45 PM UTC

Completely agree - our team list is long and we would like to deactivate teams

Translate
Level 10
Apr 20, 2018 3:35 AM UTC

I'm voting this up as well. Cleaning up teams is challenging enough as it is given users' ability to create them without admin rights.

Translate
New Participant
Apr 19, 2018 9:54 PM UTC

Well said Matt M.! I'm throwing my vote in here as well.

Translate
Level 5
Feb 16, 2018 5:49 AM UTC

There is more than one idea on this topic, so I am adding my vote & input here as well.

I don't understand how a system can offer agile, and require agile TEAMS in order to use the features, but not be able to sunset the teams. By definition, an agile development effort is finite. Once it ends, we get stuck with a dead team but we have to keep making them in order to do agile efforts. We have dozens needing deactivation at this point.

We also don't know the true impact of deleting a team, but we assume there will be to much history loss to consider it (membership, iteration details, etc). Sadly, some of our users supporting multiple agile efforts have 20+ teams (mostly dead agile teams) under their profile in order to preserve membership history.

Translate
Level 9
Sep 18, 2017 3:15 PM UTC

We have department leaving our instance and yet they have lots of teams which show up when you try to tag people in updates. Not a good experience for users.

Translate
Level 3
Sep 15, 2017 6:13 PM UTC

Hmm... I was gun ho to heavily promote the use of teams on temporary endeavors such as disappearing task forces, but now knowing that deleting the team once it is no longer in use will delete it from its associated tasks and projects, I'll have to temper my enthusiasm. I like the idea of team (and group) deactivation.

Translate
Level 2
Jun 7, 2017 5:06 PM UTC

We just got yet another request to deactivate a team, and I have to tell them...sorry, no can do. Let's make this happen, Workfront!!!

Translate
SarahDe1Author
Level 2
Mar 17, 2017 2:17 PM UTC