Allow Users to be Tagged on Updates After Writing | Community
Skip to main content
Level 4
Mar 11, 2017 11:22 AM UTC
New

Allow Users to be Tagged on Updates After Writing

It would be very useful to be able to add someone to a thread after it has been submitted. Someone might have been missed on the original update. Either the original author or a PM should be able to add another user to the notification after the fact.

4 replies

Level 4
Apr 11, 2017 5:37 PM UTC

I've been wishing for this myself. Our IT department uses "Jira" and you can always assign "watchers" after the ticket has been submitted and then remove yourself if you're so inclined. I know I can always delete the comment and re-post it, but the problem with that is that someone on the original thread will have been notified and then they click on it from their email and poof - it's no longer there. SO PLEASE CONSIDER THIS!!! :)

Translate
Level 4
Mar 22, 2017 2:28 PM UTC

Agreed, this would be a fantastic upgrade. I like how ProofHQ allows you to add someone retroactively to a proof and generate the initial email that was sent. It would be nice if you could retroactively add someone to an update and force the initial email to just them or to force the entire conversation thread to just that person you're adding.

I also like the idea of being able to "unsubscribe" to conversation threads but this would need to be very clearly called out when it happens to make sure someone doesn't do it accidentally and that all parties can be aware that the person removed themselves in case they are actually needed and need to be brought back into the conversation.

Translate
Level 6
Mar 13, 2017 7:05 PM UTC

Good idea, Craig. Currently, missing someone means deleting the post and recreating it with the missed person - if you catch it before more conversation takes place.

Translate
Level 4
Mar 13, 2017 3:17 PM UTC

It would also be useful to allow users to remove themselves from a comment thread that they no longer need to receive updates on.

Translate