Disable the Copy Project feature | Community
Skip to main content
jerflo
Employee
Oct 15, 2020 7:15 PM UTC
Question

Disable the Copy Project feature

Anyone interested in discussing this feature? Here is the link to the idea within the I-Lab for more detail: https://one.workfront.com/s/idea/0870z000000XiKlAAK/detail.

I would like to learn if you or your users could benefit from this. If so, please respond in this thread.

Thank you in advance.

This post is no longer active and is closed to new replies. Need help? Start a new post to ask your question.

28 replies

Level 9
Nov 27, 2020 3:33 PM UTC

Agreeing with others in that we don't necessarily want the copy feature fully removed, but it would be great to:

a) Have the ability, as Admins, to disable it (user, team, group levels, or even template level)

b) Have the ability to easily track when projects are copied

We've run into a bunch of issues when people copy projects.

Translate
jerflo
jerfloAuthor
Employee
Dec 3, 2020 4:53 PM UTC

Thanks for the feedback, Nick!

Translate
Level 2
Nov 3, 2020 9:01 PM UTC

hi @Jeremy Flores‚

This topic came up with a client just last week. The client has PM's who use the copy feature often because it is the quickest way for them to recreate a similar project. But when they do this, it is causing issues with an integration and a custom field that PM's neglect to clear out during the copy process - namely the project number. Without this project number, they loose the ability to sync with the financial system and it destroys the integrity of the reporting.

Of course, turning off "copy" on a project would correct this problem but create another. So if, as an admin I was able to turn it off, I would want PMs to have the ability to create their own templates. Currently the client has not allowed users (e.g. trained them) to create their own templates for fear it will create clutter in the platform. However, its clear that the benefits of this, if having the ability to shut of "copy" are critical to efficiency.

Translate
jerflo
jerfloAuthor
Employee
Nov 3, 2020 11:25 PM UTC

Hi @Colleen Grenon‚ - this is great feedback. Thank you for providing it.

If we move forward with this enhancement, existing planner access levels will not have copy project enabled by default (unless these access levels have been updated in the last two months). This means that your client would need to go back and enable "copy" manually for those users who require it. Is that going to be a problem for your client or do you have any additional thoughts on this?

Translate
Level 2
Nov 4, 2020 2:30 PM UTC
Hi Jeremy, I like the concept of having an option to “enable”. This would allow the Admin to maintain some controls over Governance, e.g. “if you don’t remember to delete the content in the critical custom field, we will no longer allow you to have the privilege to copy a project”. This ability would also meet client needs, as it would not require added templates but still allow those few that have customized flows to still copy. I like it! Colleen Grenon | regoconsulting Functional Consultant (603) 235-5413 Connect with us on LinkedIn Join our free training and webinars [cid:image001.png@01D6B28D.25FE1630] [A close up of a sign Description automatically generated]
Translate
Level 9
Oct 28, 2020 7:11 PM UTC

I COMPLETELY DISAGREE - AS WE USE COPY PROJECT FEATURE - DAILY.

Now make disable as a System Administrator setting - I'd agree with.

Thanks.

Translate
jerflo
jerfloAuthor
Employee
Oct 29, 2020 2:50 PM UTC

Thanks for your feedback, Benetta. That's the plan, to make this a system admin setting that can be both enabled or disabled.

Translate
ChrisBudgen
Level 5
Oct 28, 2020 11:26 AM UTC

I'd like to second @William English‚ that a more coherent solution would be preferable. It would be great if we could - per access level - define if the users is allowed to create from scratch, create by copy and/or create by template.

Because in our case we would like to limit it to only allowing creation by template to ensure that all settings are correct.

Translate
Level 10
Oct 28, 2020 6:42 PM UTC

+1 to this, @Chris Budgen‚

Translate
Level 6
Oct 20, 2020 2:13 PM UTC

I'm with the disable by default group!

Translate
Level 7
Oct 20, 2020 3:16 AM UTC

Same, disabling it by default would work for me, enabling it via Access Level seems like a great option.

Translate
jerflo
jerfloAuthor
Employee
Oct 19, 2020 10:28 PM UTC

Thank you for your responses @Kevin Quosig‚ @Sarah Nau‚ ‚ @William English‚ @Sarah Wilkerson‚ @Randy Roberts‚ and @Anthony Pernice‚. If we move forward with this enhancement, existing planner access levels will not have copy project enabled by default. You would need to enable it manually. You would not be required to update each user one-by-one, but rather this would mean manually enabling "copy" on existing access levels (for those who would need the ability to copy projects). Is that going to be a problem?

Translate
William--
New Participant
Oct 19, 2020 11:26 PM UTC
Works for us; but if the general consensus from others is “we would prefer ON by default,” we could work with that too. -WE
Translate
If you like my content, please take a moment to view and vote on my Idea Requests: https://tinyurl.com/4rbpr7hf
Level 7
Oct 19, 2020 10:01 PM UTC

Yes please. Between users copying old projects and admins not knowing which projects are being copied, the same mistakes can be repeated for years.

Translate
RandyRoberts
New Participant
Oct 19, 2020 8:00 PM UTC

I would implement this immediately. It makes more effective governance possible. I do see a need for copying, occasionally and by trusted people. The ability to control this in the access panel would be optimal.

BTW, @Jeremy Flores‚ , I'll talk about it anytime!

Translate
Level 7
Oct 19, 2020 6:19 PM UTC

I would like the system admin to set access level for copying projects. Occasionally it is needed but most of the time we want team members to use templates instead.

Secondly, we need to track when a project is copied off of another one and what the name was. Right now it shows the project template that the original project plan was copied from so you can't tell if it was copied or if it really came right from that template.

Translate