Serious UI Design Flaw: Preventing the deletion of custom fields/forms | Community
Skip to main content
AlyssaMorin
Level 2
Oct 24, 2018 2:20 PM UTC
New

Serious UI Design Flaw: Preventing the deletion of custom fields/forms

I recently deleted custom fields that I was trying to export because once fields are selected, the Export button slides over and a Delete button pops into its place. I was distracted and when I looked back at the screen I saw to my horror the "Are you sure . . ." message disappearing.

Oddly, WF built in a device that does not allow Sections that are multi-selected to be deleted—but you are able to delete every single custom field in your instance with two clicks.

Preventing this from happening seems like a fairly easy fix:

  • Default the "Are you sure you want to permanently delete this field and all associated data?" message to "No", not "Yes".
  • Put the Delete action in a "More" dropdown, like it is with user accounts
  • At the very least, put the Delete button to the right of the screen or to the right of Export. Don't move Export over!