Ability to Share Workspace Project as READ ONLY | Community
Skip to main content
npotter24
Level 2
Jan 30, 2018 1:22 PM UTC
Delivered

Ability to Share Workspace Project as READ ONLY

We've had multiple instances where we've created complex projects in Workspace for the business, and then shared them to multiple Stakeholders, only to find one of them changes or deletes something and then hits Save rather than Save As affecting the project for everyone.

At the moment the work around we have to use is to make a copy of the final project and share that, so we still have the original to revert to.

If when sharing there was the option to say whether it was shared as read-only or read/write it would help with this issue. Stakeholders could still make amend but if they then wanted to Save those amend it would only allow them to Save As a new project.

26 replies

Employee
Jun 19, 2020 4:52 AM UTC

View-only Workspace projects are now available: https://youtu.be/dSMG6dwWfSk

Translate
New Participant
Apr 18, 2020 10:49 PM UTC

Hi @jenla5, is there an update on this? Now that I'm wfh, I've been working to democratize our data and reports, but this capability gap is making that difficult. I also just had a coworker accidentally save over my hours of work 😞

Translate
bryanth35874492
New Participant
Jul 3, 2019 4:19 PM UTC

Please keep us posted - multiple clients of 33 Sticks requesting this feature as well to help in democratizing the analytics team's work.

Translate
New Participant
May 21, 2019 6:50 PM UTC

Yes please. Working on reporting for my team but have to wait to socialize it till we have this.

Translate
Employee
May 20, 2019 3:42 PM UTC

No release date yet, but we will update this ticket as it moves closer to release.

Translate
New Participant
May 17, 2019 7:35 PM UTC

The presentation going over what this would look like in the sneak section of Adobe Summit 2019 "Making Confident Decisions Quickly: Analysis Workspace Tips and Tricks" was awesome. Definitely a lot of use cases I can think of where this would be super useful.

Any ideas on when this would be available to customers?

Translate
New Participant
Feb 5, 2019 2:11 PM UTC

Along with the ability to create a "view only" version of an entire dashboard it would also be fantastic if we could lock entire panels. This would give the owner full control over what the user can manipulate vs. what they can't. View only would take editing completely out of the picture, but if you have a team who has some experience with Adobe Analytics, by locking entire sections you could create complex items that are protected while others are left to be edited by the user.

Translate
Gigazelle
Employee
Jan 31, 2019 9:33 PM UTC

This idea is duplicated by Workspace - Non editable, full screen curate option (Dashboard View) , adding 4 votes here.

Translate
Employee
Oct 3, 2018 5:31 PM UTC

Hi Lisa - in September's release, we added the ability to permission the 'save as template' functionality. You can remove that permission from users as needed and prevent further templates from being created by users who shouldn't create them.


For templates that were already created accidentally though, you can manage those from the Component > Projects manager. On the left rail, go to Other filters > Templates; that will filter down the list to all templates. From there, you can either:

1) delete a template altogether

2) If you want a version of the project to remain, you can open the project, Save As to create a regular project, then delete the template version. You could also enlist the user who made the template help in this process.

I hope this helps! We are eager to bring read-only to the product next year.

Translate
Level 2
Oct 3, 2018 3:40 PM UTC

Thanks jen.lasser​ this is a must have and quickly. Not having read-only access and the inability to edit/delete custom templates are creating a lot of issues with our data democratization practices.

Translate