Page Versioning not working with some permissions | Community
Skip to main content
Level 3
Jun 30, 2021 3:47 PM UTC
Solved

Page Versioning not working with some permissions

I have given some permissions on page using actool as shown below because I don't want user to have "Move,delete,replicate,ACL" permisssions:

- path: /content/wknd/en/home/men
  permission: allow
  actions: modify,create
  privileges: jcr:lockManagement,jcr:versionManagement

 

But when I create version of this page and if in future I want to revert back to old version of that page, then while clicking on "Revert to this Version" throws error "ERROR: failed to revert version".

 

Please let me know what other permissions are required to use the versioning functionality properly?

This post is no longer active and is closed to new replies. Need help? Start a new post to ask your question.
uniqvaibhavAccepted solution
Level 3
Jul 1, 2021 11:52 AM UTC

Delete is a combination of jcr:removeNode & jcr:removeChildNodes permissions. Here achieve/resolve above scenario we can use jcr:removeChildNodes as a privilege.

7 replies

uniqvaibhavAuthorAccepted solution
Level 3
Jul 1, 2021 11:52 AM UTC

Delete is a combination of jcr:removeNode & jcr:removeChildNodes permissions. Here achieve/resolve above scenario we can use jcr:removeChildNodes as a privilege.

Translate
Level 3
Jul 1, 2021 11:50 AM UTC

.

Translate
Dipti_Chauhan
New Participant
Jul 1, 2021 4:43 AM UTC

Hello,

To revert to older version, user should have Delete permissions. Enable the "Delete" permission and test again.

 

Thanks

Dipti

Translate
Level 3
Jul 1, 2021 4:48 AM UTC
Thank you for your response. My primary goal is to remove delete permission for user of certain group, so can't add delete permission. Can you please suggest any other option?
Translate
ChitraMadan
New Participant
Jun 30, 2021 8:57 PM UTC

Hi @uniqvaibhav ,

 

You need to give "Delete" permission as well to the user.

 

I was getting 500 error in local, while trying to revert to previous version (without Delete permissions), but on giving Delete permission, I could revert back successfully.

 

Thanks,

Chitra

Translate
Level 3
Jul 1, 2021 4:46 AM UTC

Thank you for your response. My primary goal is to remove delete permission for user of certain group, so can't add delete permission. Can you please suggest any other option?

Translate