Skip to main content

Filter by idea status

10000+ Ideas

Board Columns to allow addition of Custom Forms / Auto Add a custom form if moved into a columnNew

Description - Similar to allowing the addition of Tags or changing the Assignee, Board columns should allow the affition of or the auto addition of named Custom FormsWhy is this feature important to you - Data is often only required at stages as the item travels through the stages of a project and is often NOT required to be entered at the initiation of the item, additional information may be required to be added by a specific person. By facilitating the addition of a board combined with the assignment of the card to a person or team, the data will be entered at just the right point in timeHow would you like the feature to work - Add an additional option on the Column Edit under the Update Field Values Automatically, add an option for the user to select a custom form or in the board definition set the form(s) to be added. Could also do this in the same way as defining Members for a Board so that only a limited number of forms can be displayed on a particular Board. Bonus, it would be awesome if values in the form could be set based on being moved into this column. When setting up the custom form on the column you would need to have a switch next to each field to allow the value to either be maintained or to be set (similar to the switches for Project Preferences). If "Enabled" for a field, then the board would allow a value to be set. Bonus Bonus to this, is that the "Overview" or "Financial" fields should be able to be included as if they were custom forms with the same enablement. Bonus, Bonus, Bonus... Allow Project Level Forms to be included based on security, with the same "Enabled" switch on fields.Current Behaviour - Cannot add Forms

IM1New Participant

BoardsNew

Allow "backwards integration" back into a Workfront project.  I created a standalone board, but it lacked the full set of features available in project-based boards (more on those features below).  I had to manually connect each card into the project.  Also, each new card that is created cannot be connected, so I will need to manually connect new cards created by the team (if you use the "Create connected card" feature it only lets you pick from tasks in the project, but doesn't let you create an entirely new task)Allow document upload in standalone BoardsDon't let team members delete standalone BoardsEnable the Tags feature in project-based BoardsMake it easier to change the column names in project-based BoardsAdd an option that defaults each new card in standalone Boards to be connected to a projectAdd a "general information" section to standalone boards so that you can leave general information for the team (i.e. project description, general rules for using the board, links to folder locations, etc.)Allow filters for custom card fields (i.e. Priority)Enable reporting or at least export of data for standalone BoardsWhen you Group cards, it creates a redundant scroll bar that takes up spaceAllow the owner of standalone Boards to change the Status options (the seem to default to System Defaults)The standalone Boards load faster and have a better GUI than the project-based Boards, which seem to be buggy and load slowlyEnable notifications to be customized for standalone Boards

kdalen1
kdalen1Level 2

Enable Bulk Edit of Programs, including moving bulk to different portfoliosNew

Integrating the capability to bulk move Workfront Programs to a Workfront Portfolio is crucial for streamlining project management processes and enhancing user efficiency. The current limitation of manual, one-at-a-time processing for this task creates a bottleneck in workflow management. To address this, developers should prioritize the inclusion of bulk editing functionality for Workfront Programs, aligning it with the existing capability for Workfront Projects. This enhancement not only ensures consistency in user experience but also maximizes the utility of the platform. Potential implementation strategies include:Unified Interface: Design a user-friendly interface that allows users to select multiple Workfront Programs and initiate bulk moves with a few clicks.Customizable Filters: Integrate customizable filters to facilitate the selection of specific programs based on criteria such as status, deadlines, or assigned teams.Batch Processing: Implement a batch processing mechanism to handle the simultaneous movement of multiple programs, optimizing efficiency for users dealing with large project portfolios.Error Handling: Include robust error handling mechanisms to notify users of any potential issues during the bulk move process, ensuring transparency and mitigating the risk of data inconsistencies.Audit Trail: Incorporate an audit trail feature that logs all bulk move activities, providing users with a comprehensive record for tracking changes and troubleshooting if necessary.Assistance provided by an AI

Allow Cross-Project Predecessors on TemplatesNew

Description - I'd like the ability to be able to create cross-project predecessors in project templates. Currently you're only able to create internal predecessors in templates. Cross-project predecessors are very powerful but can be time consuming to set up each time a new project is created and can cause user error if a person either forgets to set up the predecessor or does it incorrectly.  Why is this feature important to you - Our users work cross-functionally very often and we'd like to be able to link tasks between the different teams without having to manually create the predecessors for every project.  How would you like the feature to work - Ideally, we'd be able to set a cross-project predecessor on a task on Project A Template to a task on Project B Template. When a project is created from that template, I'd like to be able to either create a new project for all linked templates OR select an existing project to link.  Example 1: Marketing creates a project using Template A that has cross-project predecessors for Template B (which belongs to the Sales team). On the 'Create Project' page, they have the ability to create both projects.  Example 2: Quality has already created a project from Template B but didn't sets up any cross-project predecessors since Marketing hadn't yet created a project from Template A. When Marketing goes in to create a project from Template A, they have the ability to select an existing project to link their predecessors to (Quality's Project B). 

AllieDuLevel 2

Allow group admins to have full access for 'User Admin (All Users)' without making CREATE AND DELETE mandatoryDeclined

We would like to see the ability for Group Admins to be User Admins WITHOUT being required to also give them access to DELETE users. Since Workfront allows users with logged hours to be deleted, we have already run into an issue where a user with time billed was deleted. And now we have no way to tell who those hours belong to, which has caused some probably with our revenue reporting. In order to avoid this in the future -- we removed the ability for our group admins to delete users. Unfortunately, when we took away the ability to delete users -- it then removed the User Admin access rights, as Create and Delete are both required to give that functionality. Now our group admins are unable to even add users, as they get an error stating they do not have access to the job role. They are also unable to edit the federation ID -- which we require as we have SSO enabled (as I assume most other enterprise level users do as well). We don't think you should be able to have access to DELETE users in order to successfully be able to add users and update federation id's. I suspect other large enterprise companies, especially those whose revenue recognition is tied to hours and users, will run into this issue where a user is accidentally deleted and then they have big headaches. If you have, please vote! If you have not already, please take this as a WARNING and a PLEA for help. :) ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ Below is the feedback we received from WF support about both of these: Job Role: The product manager over this area has let me know that to be able to assign a user a job role which you do not have yourself, you must either be a system administrator or a plan license user with the "User Admin (All Users)" access in your access level. Federation ID: The ability to delete users is not directly tied to the ability to edit the Federation ID. The ability to edit the Federation ID comes from the "User Admin (All Users)" checkbox in the Users section of the Access Level. Even if you have "User Admin (Group Users)", "Create", and "Delete" all checked, you cannot edit the Federation ID. The problem for you guys is that "Create" and "Delete" are mandatory with "User Admin (All Users)".